About Us


Honoring Choices® Indiana – North Central was formed to move forward the idea that everyone in our service area should receive care that honors their personal values and goals in catastrophic situations or at the end of life. The organization began as a grassroots effort as leaders from healthcare providers, faith-based communities and non-profit organizations met to discuss the best approach to facilitating advance care planning in Elkhart, Marshall and St. Joseph counties.


Our mission is to proactively engage the people of our community in conversations with loved ones and medical caregivers about their goals for quality of life and advance care planning. Honoring Choices® Indiana – North Central is a 501(c)(3) organization dedicated to promoting and sustaining advance care planning to ensure that individuals’ future health care preferences are discussed, documented and honored. We do not charge for our services but rely on community support, such as donations and grants, for our funding.

Meet Our Advisory Board

Steering Committee

Steering Committee
Deirdre Mylod, PhD
Press Ganey


Steering Committee
Jessica Bamber


John Bruinsma, MBA
Beacon Health System


Al Harding, MD
Radiology, Incorporated
Elkhart General 

Meet Our Board

Meet Our Board

Hodge Patel
Capitol Consulting Solutions


Mark Sandock, MD
Physician (retired)

Cyndy Searfoss, MA
Center for Education &
Advance Care Planning


Rosalind (Posi) Tucker
Elkhart Community Schools (retired)

Michael J. Wargo
Hospice Foundation


Advisory Board

Penny Collier

Julio Cruz-Reyes
Synergy Consulting Group

Donnie Johnson, MA, BCC
Goshen Hospital

Nicholas Kerr, DO
Beacon Medical Group
Palliative Care

Elizabeth Nafziger, MD
Goshen Health

Joe Norris
Saint Joseph Health System


Bunmi Okanlami, MD, MBA, FAAP
Indiana University South Bend

Gilberto Perez, Jr.
Goshen College

Megan Rogers
State Health Insurance Program

Shannon Stecz, MSW
South Bend Clinic

Dominic O. Vachon, M.Div, PhD
Ruth M. Hillebrand Center for
Compassionate Care in Medicine, College of Science,
University of Notre Dame